



October 31, 2024

For Immediate Release

Contact: Christin Kamm 402-471-6856

NDA ANNOUNCES 2024-2025 NEBRASKA AG YOUTH COUNCIL MEMBERS

LINCOLN — The Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA) develops and supports the next generation of ag leaders through the Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council (NAYC). NAYC is a group of college students working together to share their passion and knowledge about agriculture with young people across the state. NDA is proud to sponsor NAYC and announce the 2024-2025 Council members.

"The students who serve on NAYC are some of the best and brightest young leaders in Nebraska agriculture," said NDA Director Sherry Vinton. "They are a dedicated group who are committed to learning as much as they can about Nebraska agriculture and sharing their knowledge and passion with others. I look forward to working with these Council members and seeing how their efforts strengthen the ag industry in Nebraska."

NAYC members coordinate and participate in a wide range of ag-focused activities and events throughout the year. They tour various agricultural business, visit elementary schools to talk about where food comes from, and visit with high school students about career opportunities in agriculture. The primary focus of NAYC is to coordinate the annual Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute (NAYI), a five-day summer conference with speakers, workshops, and networking opportunities for high school juniors and seniors.

NAYI is in its 54^{th} year and is the longest running event of its kind in the nation. It is made possible through the donations of many generous sponsors.

Here is a list of the 2024-2025 NAYC leadership and their hometowns:

- Head Counselors: Laura Albro, Bayard; and Jenna Knake, Syracuse;
- President: Kendall Prior, Imperial:
- Secretary: Seth Wert, Hordville;
- Vice President of Communications and Social Media: Carleigh Tietz, Norfolk;
- Vice President of Alumni Relations: Caleb Burnside, Stapleton;
- Vice President of NAYI Improvement and Promotions: Levi Schiller, Scribner;
- Vice President of Youth Outreach: Brie Bruns, Pender; and
- Vice President of Sponsorship: Caleb Most, Ogallala.

-more-

Page 2 of 2

Additional NAYC members and their hometowns include: Braydon Binger, Hay Springs; Morgan Bonifas, Aurora; Alex Boudreau, Minden; Alexa Carter, Rising City; Keiser Dixon, Pleasanton; Abby Hodges, Julian; Cora Hoffschneider, Waco; Emily Holz, Syracuse; Austin Kamm, Lincoln: Lynsie Lancaster, Hastings; Demi Lapaseotes, Bridgeport; Libby Macklin, Blue Hill; Carson Mau, Sutton; and Evan Svanda, Nehawka.

"Teaching young people about the value of agriculture is an important part of our work," said Christin Kamm, NDA Director of Communications and NAYC Advisor. "These Council members have a passion for agriculture and are dedicated to connecting young people with information and opportunities in the ag industry. Agriculture has a big impact on our quality of life, and young people hold the key to creating a brighter future in Nebraska's ag industry."

To learn more, visit NAYC's website at https://nda.nebraska.gov/nayi/nayc.html or search for Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute on Facebook.

###

NOTE TO MEDIA: Individual head shots of NAYC members are available by emailing NDA's webmaster at: agr.webmaster@nebraska.gov.